Skincare, Uncategorized

Review: CosRx Natural BHA Skin Returning A-Sol

Sometimes, I am just not feeling up to doing a review for certain products. That is, unless I have repurchased because I don’t normally repurchase and it means that I can’t quite live without it or haven’t found something that is like it. CosRx ‘s A-Sol is one of those things. I purchased my first half-bottle from someone in the Reddit community who didn’t quite get along with it, and my second bottle is here now!

By the way, Fiddy from Fifty Shades of Snail has a fantastic review of this product here.

CosRx’s A-Sol is an unusual product in that it doesn’t really follow traditional routine patterns. It’s an undefined product. It’s not strictly a toner or a spot treatment. It can be one or both. It may be too drying for use as a toner, though.

This product contains Natural BHA to control oil while helping to clear recurring pimples. A non-drying acne treatment solution for sensitive skin.

Natural BHA Skin Returning A-Sol is a skin-type solution product that solves the daunting problem of complex skin trouble with a combination of Propolis, AHA, natural BHA and natural moisture-retention ingredients, as well as helping with control of sebum and clearing of dead skin cell. Natural Skin Returning A-Sol contains little oil, helping with managing sebum and pores, to give the skin cleanliness with no shine or trouble.

Well, first off, I’m gonna say ignore that second sentence. Look at these ingredients!

Propolis extract, Alcohol, Butylene Glycol, Sodium Lactate, Lactic acid, Water, Glycolic acid, Betaine Salicylate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Panthenol, Allantoin, Cassia Obtusfolia Seed Extract, 1,2-hexanediol, Ethyl Hexanediol, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil

The packaging also states that the main ingredients are Propolis Extract at 60% and Betaine Salicylate (a gentler form of Salicylic Acid) at 1%.

It contains quite a bit of alcohol, so depending on your skin sensitivities, this can be super drying and definitely not for sensitive skins. My own skin is very non-sensitive, so I haven’t experienced much to that effect.

To me, it smells of alcohol and tea tree. My new bottle seems to smell more alcoholic than my first one.

As mentioned, I have been using this for almost a year now and this new bottle is my second. I’ve found it to be a pretty potent acne preventative and good at healing existing spots, too. However, it doesn’t do much for huge red swollen things in my experience. I slather it all over my acne-prone areas (as in, the entire central area of my face) after cleansing and follow it up with something hydrating.

So let’s revisit the claims of the product

  • Control oil – I never expect anything from shine-control skincare, so no surprises for me when I discovered that this, too, did nothing.
  • Helping to clear recurring pimples – hell yes. It won’t do all the legwork, but it certainly helps to calm and heal fresh spots.
  • Non-drying – unless your skin doesn’t like alcohol. Fine by me, though.
  • Sensitive skin – again, alcohol (and to some extent the small amount of tea tree oil).
  • Control of pores – again, no expectations here. I have the BHA power liquid that has done wonders for that.

Packaging

This comes in an opaque white 100ml bottle with a pump and clear lid. With my first bottle, I noticed that the liquid seemed to get all over the pump and lid despite not getting anywhere else and I’m not messy with my skincare.

With my second bottle, the lid and pump were already a mess, which may be a shipping problem rather than a product problem. It also seems that the bottle isn’t filled with product all the way to the top. It’s a minor gripe, to be honest, but my BHA and AHA bottles were filled to about 3mm from the top whilst this one is only filled to 10mm from the top!

Overall, I really do love this product for spot treating, and nothing else. One bottle lasts me a year-ish as well so I consider this a great investment in my routine.

Thanks for reading!

X

Leave a comment